The egret was not amused!

This morning, when I opened the blinds, I found ice about ten feet out into our lake.  Yes, I know it is January, what did I expect?  I’ll tell you what, my friend.  This is southern Louisiana!  We’re supposed to be subtropical here! Our resident egret was standing on the shore, all hunched over with feathers fluffed for warmth.  He seemed to be saying “and how do you expect me to fish through that?

I looked again at 10 am, and found the ice gone from our shoreline, but still present for several houses to the East of us.  My weatherbug temperature on the computer monitor says 29 degrees.  That makes for very friendly meezers!  After all, no one wants to put their hind quarters down on cold ceramic tile.

Hope you’re keeping warm where you are.

2 Comments

  1. tina said,

    January 12, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    Man, I hate the cold—– stay warm, surely typical weather is around the corner for you!!!

  2. AlisonH said,

    January 15, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    I r-egret to say it is just too cold down there right now!


Leave a comment