Happy New Year!

It was a New Year’s eve day that taught me once again that we can’t really plan out our lives.  Right after breakfast I decided I’d be a good girl and  change the dishwasher before I sat down to knit.  All was well until I picked up the jumbo jug of dishwasher detergent and bent over to fill the receptacles in the door of the dishwasher.  Stabbing back pain!  I set the jug down and hobbled across the house to DH’s office.  He secured the dishwasher and set me up in his recliner with a heating pad.

Talk about ruining your day/week!  By mid-afternoon I was able to knit a few rounds on a sock in progress without too much agony.  DH was kind enough to add some frozen dinners to the grocery list and do the shopping, too.  He, being a sensitive man, brought home a dinner of meatloaf, mashed potatoes and gravy, and mixed vegetables.   Comfort food, indeed!

I slept fairly well, as long as I didn’t turn over wrong.  Laying down turned out to be a good position, and not the agony I feared.  I’ll “get over it”, as they urge.

As a result of my folly of poor body mechanics, pictures of Cite will have to wait.  I have also finished another “vanilla sock” of self-striping yarn, which I will show you when I can.

Currently on the needles is Online  sock yarn in a color named “Caribe”, which has sand color and pale and brilliant blue.  It makes me happy, and matches my memories of the Caribbean.

Happy New Year to you and yours.  Enjoy knitting through the bowl games, and may LSU triumph against the Nittany Lions!

6 Comments

  1. linnakat said,

    January 1, 2010 at 9:05 am

    Pole sana! I hope you heal up quickly!

    Oh, and GO PENN STATE heheheheheh…

  2. Knitnana said,

    January 1, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Oh, my, we’ll commisserate with each other on the back problems…do please take care!!
    (can’t wait to see that Caribbean-inspired colorway, but I’ll be patient)
    (((((hugs)))))
    Happy New Year!

  3. bookwormblue said,

    January 1, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Oh, ouch! Poor you! Glad the Patron of the Arts came to your rescue. 🙂 All 5 pairs of socks you have knit for me are currently drying (after a wash in Orange Dreamsicle Suave,mmm.) I am so grateful for all your work. Looking forward to seeing Caribe as well.

  4. AlisonH said,

    January 3, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Ouch! I’m sorry!

    I don’t know if it was liquid detergent, but I quit buying those because they’re heavy, but also, trying to get that last bit out of the bottom I once had it splatter and bleach out spots in my clothes.

  5. dragonsnlace said,

    January 3, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    Blarg! Back problems are no fun. I was in the same boat in terms of ringing in the new year in an unexpected way – bronchitis. Bleh. Hope you’re up again soon!

  6. Laura Gallagher said,

    January 19, 2010 at 2:40 am

    Eeek!

    How is it that I get notifications of the cat having health problems, but not of you?

    Hoping both you and Minky continue to feel better.

    And why YES, I am only just now catching up on the blog.

    Love you.


Leave a Reply

