Gifting a (former) knitter

There is a dear elderly lady who sits behind me in church.  She is wistfully a former knitter, who finds it too difficult to knit at this stage of life.  (Let’s call her Mrs. Sue so I don’t have to keep calling her “this lady”.)

Mrs. Sue always remarks on whatever knit garment I might wear, and enjoys handling the  knitting. Last Sunday, inspired by Alison’s many gifts,  I took this scarf to Mrs. Sue.  I had worn it only to take pictures for Ravelry, and there it was in my closet waiting for the right person.  Mrs. Sue was thrilled, showing it off to each lady who came down the aisle.

This Sunday she tapped me on the shoulder to tell me how much she had enjoyed the scarf in the week’s cold weather.  What a smile – the perfect Christmas gift for me.

3 Comments

  1. Jennifer said,

    December 15, 2009 at 5:32 am

    Yeah! What a great story. I like Mrs. Sue already. Good for you for passing along some good cheer!

  2. AlisonH said,

    December 16, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Oh, that’s wonderful! Thank you for doing that, thank you for sharing her with us!

  3. Birdsong said,

    December 16, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Bless you, dear Barbara! On my worst days, I do wonder what I would do if my hands refused to knit any longer. I was just sharing with friends the dilemma our family has with dealing with DH’s father’s hearing loss… it is very hard to see him disengaged from life when he cannot participate in the conversation. Blessings to your priest for the consideration to type up the sermons for those with reduced abilities to join in the service!


Leave a Reply

