A mirage at the post office

First, mark this date:  Christmas knitting has been shipped, and on a new early date for me!

Second,   I’m a cat that has changed her stripes to adapt to the new environment.  You see, the post office now offers these lovely flat-rate boxes.  My previous habit would be to place everything in gift boxes, and the gift boxes went into a large box.  This year all the knitwear was wrapped the old-fashioned way, as soft packages.  Thus everything fit in a medium flat-rate box, and shipped for about $10, or half the amount I have spent with UPS in the past.

Third, and most importantly, it was a lovely experience at the post office.  They had their shipping supplies organized and nicely displayed.  There was a roll of clear shipping tape (with post-office logo, but who cares) for my use.  By the time I had secured all the goodies in the box and addressed it there was no line.  The clerk was happy to see me, and very pleasant.   Did you know they now take credit and debit cards?  No more worry about having the right amount of cash.  As I left, all I could think was “It must be a mirage!”

The postal service has  taken a page from McDonald’s’, and changed one word:  “Would you like stamps with that?”

4 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    December 4, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    You’re preaching to the choir, here…I use USPS Priority in my business (but I don’t use Flat Rate – because my packages are under the weight limits so it’s never more cost effective!)

    Now you have to try the new automated portals…
    🙂
    and whooohooo!!! the mailing for the season is done on your end!!
    (((hugs)))

  2. AlisonH said,

    December 4, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Christmas? Is that THIS month?!

  3. bookwormblue said,

    December 4, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Thought you’d like to know that I really enjoyed using the soft, warm scarf you made me last Christmas today, when the Deep South was forecasted to get snow, of all things!

  4. dragonsnlace said,

    December 6, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Hmm. The last time I went to the PO they didn’t have bubble wrap, or tape, so I had to go to Wal-Mart then back to the PO. The large flat rate boxes I use to send my husband things while deployed are half the size they were for the same cost. Glad your experience was better though. 😀


Leave a Reply

