Check with Archie

Last night I actually got cleaned up into a proper dress and jewelry to attend a funeral visitation.  When we got home I changed out of my dress to comfy clothes, but kept my turquoise cross and earring set on.  At bedtime I reached up to remove my right earring before changing to jammies….and there was none!

Now, I love that turquoise set.  It is a squash blossom cross on a turquoise necklace, and the earrings are simple dangles that match the necklace beads.  DH gave it to me to commemorate my installation as Grand Organist of Louisiana Order of the Eastern Star last year.

As you can imagine, a frantic search began.    Perhaps the earring pulled out of my ear when I took the dress off over my head.  I searched my closet thoroughly – no earring.  DH thought the shoulder belt of my seat belt might have pulled it off, and checked the car and garage – no earring.  I went to bed sad that I had apparently lost the earring, but with the outside chance that someone would have turned it in at the funeral home.  Plans were made to arrive early for the funeral the next morning to be able to ask after the missing earring.

All was routine this morning:  coffee and computer, a bite of breakfast, then Minky’s morning medications at 8:30.  The cats have their own ritual surrounding the dose.  It began when Minky was put on prednisone, as it is very unpleasant on an empty stomach.  Minky had to have treats, and if there was to be peace, so did the rest of the cats.

After the last cat had gotten the treats, I looked down and there was Archie, spread out on the floor and looking up at me. Between his paws he had the turquoise earring!  I’ll always know which one he found for me, as it now has tooth pock-marks.  I’ll treasure those, too, because they will always remind me of the time Archie brought me a present – my earring.

7 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    November 30, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    A retriever!! He’s a retriever, in disguise!!!
    I’m so glad you got it back – I know how frustrating it is to lose one that’s important to you!
    (((hugs)))

  2. Debby said,

    December 1, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Awww…what a good kitty! I love stories like that! That earring is super-special now.

  3. AlisonH said,

    December 1, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Wow. And now it’s a gift from two loved ones!

  4. Marsha said,

    December 1, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    I use to have a patten leather purse that I carried when in high school. I kept it for years, just because of the teeth and claw marks my first cat placed in it. They give us love and memories!

  5. dragonsnlace said,

    December 2, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Awe, so glad he found it for you. I hate losing things like that.

  6. dragonsnlace said,

    December 2, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    This is offtopic – but I did something stupid which I will elaborate on later when I have more time and I was wondering if you knew of another lace pattern like the feather & fan that looks fancy though it is very easy? Email me if you have a chance. ❤

  7. December 13, 2009 at 5:24 am

    With a name like Meezermeowmy, I just had to come calling. I have a Siamese cat – my very own meezer – whom I love very much, even if I do, on occasion, call him fuzzy butt (He is considerably and justifiably indignant at said appellation, as his butt, like to rest of him is what he considers sleek & svelte.)

    this is a very sweet story – Archie sounds like a very smart fellow!


Leave a Reply

