Finished Object Friday

I’m pleased to report I’ve finished a scarf for DH (aka my Patron of the Arts).  He chose the yarn color some time ago.  No surprise, it is Knit Picks Swish DK in Garnet Heather.  It looks very similar to the yarn he chose for his sweater last year. 

The pattern is called Toyboy Scarf, but I choose to call it Bob’s Cabled Scarf.  We’re both more than a few years past the Toyboy designation.

I was very pleased that even though we are both retired, and he is around my knitting all the time I was able to keep this one low-key enough to surprise him at the end.  I finally brought it to his attention when I had almost finished the fourth skein to get his approval on the length. ” One more cable twist, please” was the verdict. I had less than a yard left of the last skein when I finished the scarf.  Oh, there was more in the closet, but it certainly seemed a shame to have to add on more yarn in the closing rounds.  Didn’t have to go there – heh!

Yes, he is modeling his new scarf with a short-sleeved shirt.  It was about 70 degrees at 10 am when I took the picture.  Louisiana will be cold enough to enjoy wearing a scarf in another month or two…but I’m ready!

It’s time for an Archie update.  At his first vet assessment at the end of August he weighed 5 lb. 4 oz.  This week he weighs 11 lb., and has most of a year to grow!  He has calmed down just a bit, at least enough to enjoy his first kitty nap time in a lap. Here then, is photo evidence of “two white-footed gentlemen” enjoying a good read.

4 Comments

  1. Laura Gallagher said,

    November 13, 2009 at 1:37 am

    What a pair of distinguished gentlemen you have!

    Hugs and pets to them.

  2. Knitnana said,

    November 13, 2009 at 11:43 am

    And don’t they both look comfy?
    Love the scarf!
    (((hugs)))

  3. AlisonH said,

    November 14, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Love the color, love the picture of the two of them together!

  4. Debby said,

    November 16, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    They are adorable together!! Isn’t it wonderful to have a husband that appreciates your knits?

    I keep offering to knit for mine, but he hasn’t found another pattern that really hits him yet.


Leave a Reply

