A knitter among strangers

Yesterday, as I signed in at the vision clinic, the receptionist’s first words were “I like your sweater, did you knit it?”

Wow, she likes my February Lady Sweater, and she knows it is knitting (almost unheard of in these parts)!  Are you a knitter, I inquired?

“Oh, yes, but I haven’t knit for years” she replied.  So I showed her my socks, too.  Then I told her about Ravelry, and wrote down the address on a post-it.  (I’ve provided a link here, on the very outside possibility that a reader might not know about this super resource for those who knit, crochet, and generally play with fiber.) That was a fun little moment in a common day.

Yesterday had another moment of note:  I finished all my Christmas knitting.  I’m rather pleased with myself, actually.  ” Nothing to see here, move on”, as the cops say.  Heh!

By the way, how do you spot a knitter at Wal-Mart?  They’re the one who chooses to stand at the end of the longest line.  What, don’t you carry knitting in your purse?

 

3 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    November 4, 2009 at 9:51 am

    Ah, come back to the fold, little one….I’m glad you told her and spread the word about Ravelry!
    😉
    Actually, I don’t knit in line at Walmart. I’m resorting to trying a smaller bag, so I leave the knitting in the car for longer stints – like you, waiting room knitting!
    (((hugs)))

  2. Emilee said,

    November 4, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Ah, I love the “knitter’s secret handshake” of recognizing knits on one another.

  3. AlisonH said,

    November 6, 2009 at 12:29 am

    What Emilee said!


Leave a Reply

