Garrison Keeler was right!

It has been a quiet week at our lake.  Christmas knitting has happened…makes for a quiet blog.

Yarn shopping has happened.  DH, aka “Patron of the Arts” extended a bribe trip (helping him with a task he doesn’t want to do in return for wooly fiber) to Knits by Nana.  I had seen on Ravelry that the shop was dropping Noro in favor of other stripey yarns, and was putting all the Noro in the sale room at 40% off.

Why yes, now that you mention it, I’m not a big Noro fan.  It has earned its reputation for being scratchey and having lots of vegetable matter spun in at no extra charge.  What I had become interested in was the Noro Striped Scarf .  Color changes amuse me, and this pattern features two (at least) different colorways playing off against each other.

DH and I had admired the beginning hint of red in the dogwoods as we drove to Baton Rouge that day.  That’s my excuse for the wild combination of yarns I chose in the sale room: Noro Color 102 is fuscia, pink, orange, and purple.  Noro Color 172 is black and warm brown and hunter green.  Together they will make my “Woods in the Fall” scarf.

When I’m done it will get washed as usual, except I’ll add Suave creme rinse.  It may be a pretty yarn, but it needs remedial help.

2 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    November 2, 2009 at 10:47 am

    OMG…that’s so funny – I nudged you to this post, and you are knitting a Noro Striped Scarf ala Jared. And what is sitting on my desk to do? Yup. You guessed it!

    Now…I’m terribly jealous that you got 40% OFF your Noro. I didn’t.
    😦
    (I do like a man who opens his wallet for a good cause!)
    (((Hugs)))

  2. AlisonH said,

    November 2, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Ooh, pretty. Ooooh.


Leave a Reply

