Satisfaction

Deadline time has arrived, and I have shipped my package to New York.  What, you ask?  It’s time to send hand-knit goodness to Christmas at Sea .  Go see their page, I’ll wait.

It’s exciting to think that they have been putting together Christmas boxes for merchant mariners for 175 years!  My great-grandmother, Delilah, taught me to knit.  She said she learned to knit socks for “the war”.  It turned out she was referring to the Spanish-American War.  So you see, the tradition of knitting for others who serve our good has been in our family that long.

This year I didn’t do as much car travel as last, and that is a wonderful time to knit the scarfs and caps for Christmas at Sea.  I shipped only two matching sets of scarf/caps, but added six big bottles of unscented hand/body lotion and six chap sticks.  Oh, and there was one more “gift”.  I fastened the scarf/cap sets to their Christmas card (including care instructions) with a honking big safety-pin.  When you need a pin at sea, it’s worth its weight in gold!

7 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    October 27, 2009 at 10:24 am

    How cool! My great aunt on my father’s side (Aunt Sadie) ran the Seaman’s Church Institute in Philadelphia, and one Christmas my dad and aunt got telling stories. The one I remember best is when the sailors sent my (very young at the time) dad into the pantry on a Tastykake raid. 🙂

    Mmmm…Tastykakes…

    • meezermeowmy said,

      October 27, 2009 at 11:05 am

      That’s neat! I love it when I hear of others who have connections with the Seaman’s Church.

      Barbara-Kay

  2. October 27, 2009 at 11:43 am

    That is so totally awesome! I had never heard of this before. Will be checking it out thoroughly now though! Fair Winds, Nautical Knitter

  3. bookwormblue said,

    October 27, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Please email me a list of the requested items non-knitters can contribute. (Acrobat doesn’t seem to work on my computer, so I can’t see the pdf file on the website.) It’s too late for me to contribute this year, but perhaps I can stock up on things for next year.

  4. AlisonH said,

    October 27, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Very cool! Loved the Tastykake raiding on the side there.

  5. Knitnana said,

    October 28, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Excellent!! Did you photo your contribs?
    (((hugs)))

  6. jeanette said,

    November 4, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Thanks for blogging about us! I agree about the safety pin. There’s nothing like the happiness that I feel when i need one and realize I have one!


Leave a Reply

