Bouncing Back

Thank you for so many kind wishes and prayers for my beloved Minky. She spent an overnight stay in the oxygen cage, then was able to come home on an even higher daily prednisone dose.

Dr. Jason is so in love with this cat!  He keeps saying she is such a beautiful person, such a joy to treat.  Five months ago, when we went through another crisis, he said if she required oxygen we would have to take her to the LSU Vet School Clinic, as he didn’t have the capability.  Now he’s gotten an oxygen cage to treat her.  That is so wonderful, as our vet’s new office is a short two blocks from here, at the edge of our subdivision.  The Vet School is a 20 mile ride, which would be enough stress to push a sick cat over the edge.

Minky’s x-rays showed progression of her lung disease.  The sad truth is that she probably won’t be one of the meezers that lives two decades.  The good news is that we had a wonderful day yesterday, with Minky being more social and happy than she has been in months.  As I write this, she is stretched out across my knees, supervising all typing.  Do you know how hard it is to type with a paw and a chin on your left wrist?  I love it!

6 Comments

  1. AlisonH said,

    October 12, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    What a beautiful cat, how wonderful to have her home, and what a peach of a vet you have!

  2. Knitnana said,

    October 12, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    She such a beauty, and I worried from afar. I’m delighted to hear she’s doing so much better.

    There’s nothing better than a meezer stretched across your lap. Nothing.
    ((((Hugs))))

  3. Laura Gallagher said,

    October 13, 2009 at 12:44 am

    Oh good, I’m glad she’s better, and that your vet has that for her. I was wondering how she was doing. Karina used to regularly curl up like that on my left wrist, it’s very sweet. These days she’s more likely curled up on my left foot.

    Do pet her for me.

    • bookwormblue said,

      October 13, 2009 at 6:57 pm

      So glad she’s better! I know what she means to you, and she has a special spot in my heart as well. Snuggle her for me, too.

  4. dragonsnlace said,

    October 15, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    Awe, glad kitty is feeling better.

    I imagine typing with a meezer stretched out is something like knitting with a 40 pound terrier in my lap. 😀

  5. Marsha said,

    October 16, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Glad Minky is doing better!


Leave a Reply

