The Perfect Match

This June I was fortunate enough to win a blog prize from Margene of Zeneedle fame.  She was not only generous, but also inquired of my favorite colors.  I responded that I had never met a blue or a green I didn’t like (except green tea).  Margene sent me this lovely gift package, and the search was on for the perfect pattern to match the yarn.

The yarn was a generous 500 yards, and I didn’t want to use only a fraction of  it.  Several scarf patterns failed their auditions.  The yarn waited, continuing to call to me softly from the safety of a cat-proof bag.  Finally, I blew an afternoon scrolling through Ravelry patterns.  Multnomah caught my eye, and the yarn was cast on before the printer ink dried.  Eight days later it was ready for its close up. The pattern called for 10 repeats and 412 yards of yarn.  This yarn, Brooklyn Handspun’s Soft Spun, Winters Welcome had that wonderful 500 yards,  allowing me to knit 15 repeats.  I love a generous shawl, and haven’t found a place in my life for “shawl-lets”.

Would you have believed this could be knit from a skein of sock yarn?  I’m so happy!

Multnomah reached FO stage just in time.  Yesterday the mailman brought my KnitPicks’s package containing eight skeins of City Tweed DK, the Tabby color.  I’d been looking for a project for this yarn ever since Knitnana started talking about knitting a shawl with City Tweed.  Right after Multnomah hit the blocking board I cast on Stephen West’s Boneyard Shawl. This pattern is intended for a tweed yarn, and the City Tweed doesn’t disappoint.  Its alpaca content makes you want to keep on knitting, keep on petting the yarn.  Again, I’ve bought more yarn than the pattern called for because I want a shawl to snuggle in.  (What is it with these dinky shawls that look like big neckerchiefs?  Instant gratification, I suppose.)

Archie is growing like a weed, up to 9 pounds from the 5 pounds 4 ounces he weighed when he arrived,  and calming down only a bit.  He spent some kitty nap time in DH’s lap yesterday for the first time.  Blocking my shawl was a whole ‘nother adventure, though.  I might as well have been waving a kitty lazer about as threading the wires through the shawl.  Archie made several frantic and successful jumps onto the blocking board before he was banished to the guest room.  Once the shawl was blocked I took the entire board out to the garage to dry, and released the less-than-repentant Archie to pillage and burn once more.

4 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    October 7, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Oh, that Margene – she is so generous – and your shawl is gorgeous! (I’m with you, btw, give me the large shawls to snuggle in!)
    I’m glad you like City Tweed, as I do, too! And your shawl-in-progress looks great.
    Archie is such a handsome guy…but oh, no Mister, you don’t go after the blocking wires!
    (((hugs)))

  2. AlisonH said,

    October 7, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Would I believe a shawl from a skein of sock yarn? Oh yes, done it myself. Yours is particularly pretty, and what a lovely gift of yarn!

    Archie was just adding his touch of humor to it. Pillage and burn–I love it!

  3. bookwormblue said,

    October 8, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Ooh. I want to pet the Multnomah! It looks like sea water cascading down your back. (Tries not to look envious.)

  4. dragonsnlace said,

    October 9, 2009 at 11:16 am

    That bone shawl seems to be all the rage. A couple people I know just finished theirs up. The other shawl is nice!


Leave a Reply

