Knitting Resorcefulness

Last week I had to take DD to a dental appointment.  (She doesn’t drive, and her husband had to work.)  There I was, knitting away (surprise, surprise!) on a mitten, and came to the point where the thumb should go on a piece of waste yarn.  At home I keep a small left-over ball of crochet thread just for the purpose.  I reached for the crochet thread and realized it was just that…at home.

It was early in the appointment, and the prospect of actually waiting in the waiting room loomed before my eyes.  Horrors!  Grasping for threads, I went to the reception desk with my knitting in hand, and begged for 8 inches of dental floss.  They gave me a whole package of my very own!  Now, for the finicky knitter, I should mention that it is difficult to get a good tight knot in waxed dental floss.  Other than that, life is good.

6 Comments

  1. Laura Gallagher said,

    September 15, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    Oh good for you.

    I have been at several doctor appointments and lab appointments in the last couple of days, both for the kids and for me, and have brought along the sock that I had to frog and have now restarted. Don’t get much work done on it while I’m herding kids, but still glad to have it.

  2. Knitnana said,

    September 16, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Such a smart move! That early an appointment and I’d have just been at a loss. Till the caffeine kicked in.
    (((hugs)))

  3. AlisonH said,

    September 16, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    Oh, that’s funny. I can just picture it: now the receptionist likely has an emotional stake in your project’s success.

  4. dragonsnlace said,

    September 17, 2009 at 9:26 am

    So resourceful. I think if I had 8 inches of dental floss, I might use it to strangle my dentist…no no not really but rawr.

  5. tina said,

    September 17, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    You clever girl…………….. can’t hold you down! The receptionist must have giggled!

  6. Debby said,

    September 18, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Good for you! The knitting *must* go on!

    A belated happy anniversary to you, and what a special gift. 🙂


Leave a Reply

