Let me show you my knitting

Yesterday I said there was finished knitting on the blocking board.  Today it is front and center to be proudly introduced.

First is a Swallowtail Shawl (pattern available for free here),  but not just any shawl.  I knit my first one when the pattern came out in 2006;  in lace weight yarn it was merely a generous scarf.  I like my shawls to be a hug!  Then Franklin Habit knit a Swallowtail for his grandmother using worsted weight yarn.  Oh, my!  I printed out his notes on quantity of yarn and the hunt was on.

Last October we visited Whirlwind Ranch Alpacas in Lebanon, MO.  You can read about that adventure here.  One of my joys was getting to choose some yarn from the fleece of the alpacas I met. I bought 3-100 gram skeins of natural white worsted weight to knit my shawl.  The third skein was bought as insurance; if I didn’t need it for the shawl, I most certainly would find some small project to love.

Here, then, is my Whirlwind Swallowtail.  It is as yummy and warm as I imagined it would be.  (Let me tell you about August photoshoots in Louisiana!  Warm!)  Oh, that third skein?  I weighed it before and after knitting, finding that I used 20 grams , or 40 yards (total project required 240 yards).   A small  additional item  can still happen, and I am most certainly glad I bought the third skein.

The second FO didn’t begin its life with such a clear vision.  In fact, it began again and again!  I bought some sock yarn from Knit Picks in a colorway they were discontinuing, named Rocky Mountain Dusk.   It had the rich blue and purple of the gowns that were chosen for last year’s Eastern Star state officers, so I bought four 50-gram skeins of it for a shawl. This yarn auditioned in several different patterns – awful!  I consulted the Ravelry gurus on such misbehaving multicolor  yarn, and ended up choosing a feather and fan pattern.  It played nice – very nice! It just wasn’t very exciting to knit…been there, done that.  The scarf languished in one of my favorite knitting bags until this weekend, when I determined that I would rather have the knitting bag and the options needle available – finish it!   It took two 50-gram skeins for this length.  I called it a halt there because I still have enough yarn for a pair of socks.  After washing (the water had only a haze of blue, gone in one rinse) I hung this scarf over the drying rack, to encourage whatever stretching it wanted.  I was surprised that it could play so well with my summer shirt, prolonging its wearing season well into fall.  Happy, happy dance!

5 Comments

  1. margene said,

    August 11, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Swallowtail is beautiful. Love the white and the ripple scarf is fun! All that lovely color…so attractive. Don’t you just love the cute faces of alpaca?

  2. redfear said,

    August 11, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Your Swallowtail looks lovely – thanks for the tip on the worsted weight yardage.

  3. Marsha said,

    August 12, 2009 at 8:25 am

    You have been so busy!! I haven’t done a ‘crafty’ thing in months. Love the new shawl, came out beautifully!

  4. AlisonH said,

    August 13, 2009 at 12:36 am

    Congratulations! Nicely done.

  5. Knitnana said,

    August 13, 2009 at 8:38 am

    Oh your shawl is stunning…and the feather and fan? GREAT use of that colorway!
    You’re looking lovely, by the way – are you letting your hair grow out? It’s becoming!
    ((((hugs)))


Leave a Reply

