Finished Object weekend

Here on the home front (not at Sock Summit) much progress was made.  In fact, I finished four projects!  There was a lot of happy dance, happy dance going on.

The first two projects were cross stitch embroideries I had stitched a week ago.  I hadn’t planned to stitch these two charts at all.  Knitters know all about this phenomenon:  you go into a yarn store for some little thing, and come out with a new project, too.  I went to the cross stitch store to pick up the frame for the Summer Garden Sampler,  and saw these two small charts.  They were by Judy Whitman, one of my favorite artists.  She delights in doing an over-all design, say an apple, that is built of many tiny pictures, including apples, A for apple, an apple basket, etc.  That was the first one that caught my eye, her French Country III Apple

This weekend, with a consult from my even-geekier-than-I DH (that’s a compliment!), I sketched out the pillow design I wanted to make.  Although it is a style that I have seen often in pictures — pillow cover with buttons on one side closing the opening — I had never made one.  I treated it like a square pillowcase, with the extension twice the width of the buttons I had chosen.  I was very pleased with the results.

The second design, Alphabet Pumpkin,  also a Judy Whitman, was from the get-go for DH.  I was thrilled to find the  pumpkin fabric for the pillow.  DH loves all things orange, even once buying an orange car.  This pumpkin’s for you, babe!

Then, flushed with success, I finished a shawl and a scarf.  When you have many projects waiting on the needles you have a jump-start on finishing.  (Well, that’s my story, and I’m going to stick with it.)  They should come off the blocking board later today, and hopefully pictures will follow tomorrow.

3 Comments

  1. dragonsnlace said,

    August 10, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Wow! How very productive. The pillows are cute. I like the little designs made of smaller designs. I haven’t crossstitched anything in a long time.

  2. AlisonH said,

    August 10, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    Wow. Cool! And beautiful work.

  3. Meredith said,

    August 11, 2009 at 6:19 am

    Lovely cross stitch. I can’t imagine how you can do something so tiny. I have a great griedn who whips out cross stitch patterns like lightening. She amazes me also. Good work and lovely knitting also.


Leave a Reply

