Sock Summit, as seen from home

As Eeyore would say “Don’t mind me.  I’ll just be over here, knitting in the corner.”  Not going to Sock Summit, but it does sound amazing.  Many of my blogging friends are attending, so it will be my job to stay home and keep the blog open, I guess.

I was musing this morning about knitting travelers.  Will all those sock knitters freak out the airport security?  “The last gal had knitting needles with her, too.  What is this, a test to see if we are allowing knitting?!”  Hah!  Serve them right after all the grief they’ve given knitters!

Then my mind jumped to how many knit guru’s will be in Portland. All the best minds of sock knitting will be there, in one place.   It will be a brain trust that even a head of state could envy!  I pray for traveling mercies for all those knitters, and for a wonderful weekend of knitting and friendship.

I’m knitting away on my Ulmus, have about 8  + repeats on the main body remaining.  Yet I feel pulled to cast on a sock in solidarity with Sock Summit.  Heh!

6 Comments

  1. margene said,

    August 4, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Maybe that’s why socks are such a draw all of a sudden. Knitters in solidarity!

  2. dragonsnlace said,

    August 4, 2009 at 10:45 am

    I would love to go to something like that sometime when my husband isn’t about to be shipped back over to a war zone. Meanwhile, I’m sitting at home with you…well not with you but you know…

  3. dragonsnlace said,

    August 4, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Oh yeah, even after they tightened security they didn’t seem to mind me bringing my granny quilt squares and very sharp little needles to hand piece the thing with onto the plane. I thought it was quite a riot that people couldn’t have their fingernail clippers but I had a number of pins and other tiny sharp objects.

  4. AlisonH said,

    August 4, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Can you just imagine all the muggles around town going wha a a a t in Portland? Heh. I hope the Summit makes national news.

  5. Knitnana said,

    August 4, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    I’m going. As you know. I’m a nervous wreck with wondering what they’ll let me get thru and what they won’t (I don’t do this flying thing often, so …)

    BUT. I have a wonderful yarn that I want to find a “mate” for so I can make Ulmus – and what better place to find a complimentary sock yarn? Thank you for being the supportive friend you are. Without my blog buddies, I’m not sure I’d have gotten the nerve to go…
    (((((Hugs)))))

  6. Jennifer said,

    August 9, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    There were TWELVE SS09 knitters on my plane alone. How amazing is that? All the hotels were sold out by the Convention Center. It was nothing but sock knitters everywhere you looked. AMAZING.


Leave a Reply

