Geeks don’t waste time counting

Yesterday I cast on for my second Ulmus, this time in Malabrigo sock yarn.  (I’ll share details and pictures tomorrow, after this rainy weather passes.  Why, yes, I’m bragging – we’re getting rain!)  After knitting the set-up charts you have, let’s say 45 stitches on the needle.  (I am changing numbers for the sake of the illustration.  You are clever knitters, and it wouldn’t be fair to the designer to use the real ones.) The next instruction is to continue repeats of the rows of the second chart until you have 395 stitches on the needle.

Whoa – 395 stitches.  Visions of repeatedly counting to see if I was at the 395 mark danced through my head like a nightmare.  Not gonna do it!  So I started playing with my calculator:  395 – the 45 I already have = 350.  I could see from the chart that doing one repeat of the chart rows would add 14 stitches.  So, the question is:  How many times through the chart (14 stitches)  would equal 350?  Type 350 in calculator, divide by 14,  = 25.

Okay, 25 repeats of the chart will do it.  Where to write that down do I won’t lose it?  How to remember, through TV shows and movies and interruptions, that it’s 25 repeats?  Time to use my Geek powers! My counter application for my PDA, CountAble has multiple counters, and the ability to count down as well as up.  I set “pattern repeats” at 25, and knit away.  Every time I finish a chart repeat, I click one down.  When it says “0”, it’s time to add the lace.  Much less stressful.  Having invested a few minutes of thought, I don’t have to think about this again for days…except to remember to use the counter.

6 Comments

  1. Nana Sadie said,

    July 27, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    Congrats – and aren’t toys fun?

  2. wendy g said,

    July 28, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Looking forward to seeing the yarn for your second Ulmus.

  3. Debby said,

    July 28, 2009 at 10:02 am

    What a great idea! I’m usually much more low-tech but the PDA seems somehow more infallible than the piece of paper.

    You may have all the rain you like — we are too soggy and I hope not to see any more of it for a good long time!

  4. dragonsnlace said,

    July 30, 2009 at 2:31 am

    After seeing your Ulmus(es), I decided I must have one. I’ll have to keep in mind how you calculated your figures for myself when the yarns get here.

    • meezermeowmy said,

      July 30, 2009 at 8:11 am

      I’d love to see your colors.

      Remember, the example I gave used dummy numbers to protect the designer. Be sure to insert the correct numbers.

      I tried to email respond to you, but the message bounced. Sorry.

  5. dragonsnlace said,

    July 31, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Meezer – That’s odd about the email. I’ll have to check it out. I have my mother-in-law picking out one set of colors for me and I have posted the yarns I ordered for my other Ulmus on my blog – http://dragonsnlace.wordpress.com/2009/07/30/ulmus/ Thanks for the heads up on the email issue.


Leave a Reply

