Knitter’s learning curve

I had to drive to Baton Rouge for an errand  yesterday.  Once that was completed I decided to prowl through Michael’s Crafts.  I hadn’t been there in months, and the knit chat lists have mentioned a lot of changes.

There in the yarn aisle I met a lady holding a pair of pink Pony Pearl needles, about size 9, and very long.  I struck up a conversation, and pulled my circular needles out of my purse, explaining that you could knit back and forth, too.  I extolled the virtues of circular needles that put the weight of a large project on your lap, not your wrists.

She replied “Oh, yes, I’ve had trouble with carpel tunnel syndrome in the past.  But these needles are pink!”

I explained about different needle materials working for different yarns:  bamboo for slippery yarn, slick metal needles for cotton.

She replied “But those don’t come in pink!

O-kay, I see a trend here!  I admired some pink wool, but she made a beeline for the acrylic.

I just walked away.  Some people are not good candidates for knowledge.

6 Comments

  1. Nana Sadie said,

    July 23, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    You tried your best. No one can fault you.
    🙂
    (((hugs)))

  2. Courtney said,

    July 23, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Hahaha, thanks for a good laugh this afternoon. So true, some people can’t be taught…

  3. Charlotte said,

    July 25, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    It would be interesting to know WHY she wanted pink needles.

  4. Laura Gallagher said,

    July 25, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    *facepalm*

    I’ve had conversations like that at Michael’s before, but not quite that bad.

    I do wonder how many people end up somewhere like that, pick up some sticky acrylic yarn and heavy long metal needles, and end up deciding oh, they can’t knit, it’s just too hard.

    I’m thinking I need to get back to my knitting again, once we’re clear of the chaos of moving Miles in – with the MegaScreen tv over here, some time watching videos with my knitting sounds nice. Not quite sure where to pick things back up, though.

  5. tina said,

    July 26, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    verrrrrrrrrrrrrry funny. That lil’ story tickled me. Me, with the very boring plain old Denise circs that I love dearly!

  6. AlisonH said,

    July 27, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    My pink ivory (it’s a type of wood) needles arrived today, so this really strikes my funnybone.


Leave a Reply

