Finishing Friday

My Meezer Ulmus came off the needles last night, and was blocked in short order.  It was just the right size to use the diagonal of one panel of my blocking board as its long edge.  Then it was a simple matter to pull each point out to the sides of the board and pin them…no measurements required.  With the Ulmus pinned to just one panel I was able to pick it up and take it out to rest on the drying rack in the garage, free from Meezer wallowing.

This morning I pulled the pins, and was very pleased with the final results. 

The slip stitch pattern takes on a more subtle color blend after bloccking. Pre-blocking it reminded me of a woven fabric I had seen at a woolen mill in Wales. 

No photo shoot in this house is complete without Meezer intervention. “But Meowmy, you said it was a Meezer Ulmus!”  So I did, Torrie.

7 Comments

  1. AlisonH said,

    July 3, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Wow. Gorgeous.

  2. margene said,

    July 5, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    LOVE it. So beautiful! It looks angelic.

  3. Birdsong said,

    July 6, 2009 at 10:56 am

    It is absolutely gorgeous! I love the pale, subtle qualities… what size did you make?

  4. Knitnana said,

    July 6, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    I’m in awe…what a gorgeous shawl! (and Torrie, too…yes, Torrie, too!)
    ((((hugs))))

  5. wendy g said,

    July 8, 2009 at 7:22 am

    Beautiful! Great job and I know you will enjoy wearing it.

  6. grace said,

    July 27, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    one of my absolute favorites of the bunches of Ulmus I have seen, its breathtaking!

  7. wildress said,

    July 28, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    I have no idea what an Ulmus is really – but that is a fantastic piece of work.


Leave a Reply

