The Geeky Knitter Shops

It all began with an innocent perusal of the July/August 2009 Piecework issue. All was fine until I reached page 6.  There, in all its glory, was an ad from Lacis for mini-hooks.    I have one of these sawed-off beauties for picking up dropped stitches when sock knitting.  It can be a life-saver for lace knitting, too.

This ad caught my eye because it offered 16 sizes from 00-14. (If these numbers don’t make sense to you, see this handy size chart that compares crochet hooks and knitting needle sizes, and also gives their mm.) Any of you who have tried placing seed beads on lace weight yarn with a crochet hook know the desirability of steel crochet hooks in the 11-14 range.  It takes a hook that small to fit through the beads.  The other notable fact about these hooks is that in today’s craft store/big box store environment they are scarce as hen’s teeth.

Lacis offeres free shipping for on-line orders, with a flat $4.50 handling charge/order.  It seemed to me that my most economical move would be to place a complete order now, rather than piece-meal it out.  They’ll be sending me sizes 11-14.  Oh, and I bought the lobster claw clasp that will corral them all on my chatalaine.  Who said a knitting geek couldn’t be an old-fashioned gal?

4 Comments

  1. AlisonH said,

    June 28, 2009 at 10:39 am

    If you ever make it out here, I’ll take you up to Lacis. It’s an incredible place, about an hour plus northeast of me.

  2. Knitnana said,

    June 28, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    I have a little hook on a key ring with a beaded “Knitnana” on it that I use for picking up stitches in my socks…This is a true find. And thank you for the chart link!
    🙂
    (((hugs)))

  3. tina said,

    June 29, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    you are wonderfully clever—— thanks for the link! 🙂 *** Personally I think that a chatelaine with goodies is the geek equivalent of a pocket protector. I know because I have several. SNORT!

  4. Birdsong said,

    July 1, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    Oh joy!! I think I need to shop there… thanks for posting this… who would know otherwise?! Plus, there’s nothing like having enabling friends.


Leave a Reply

