Knitting appreciated

I have read many a sad story about a knit gift being scorned by the recipient.  Many knitters have crossed whole groups of relatives off their “knit for” lists.  Perhaps you’re ready to hear a story with a different outcome.

Earlier posts told the story about the baby I’ve called Emmanuel.   (more about the name in a moment)  He was born March 14th, at 2 lbs., 8.8 oz and 15 inches.  Sunday was his first day in church, the first time for us to hear his cry…more a mew.  The white baby blanket I showed you on May 4th  was knit for him.

Today I received a thank-you note from the family, stating ” Thank you so much for the wonderful blanket.  I know that we will cherrish it for a lifetime.”  There was a baby picture included, with his name – spelled Immanuel.

After all the knitting rejections, that note made my day.  I thought it might brighten yours too.  Happy knitting!

5 Comments

  1. margene said,

    June 4, 2009 at 9:18 am

    It is very nice to hear not only that your knitting was appreciated but that the recipient took the time to write a thank you note!

  2. AlisonH said,

    June 4, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Oh, that’s wonderful! That’s the best kind of thank you.

  3. Jennifer said,

    June 4, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    That’s my favorite kind of thank you! You are certainly a lucky knitter and Emmanuel is a lucky handknit recipient. What a great win-win combination.

  4. bookwormblue said,

    June 5, 2009 at 9:55 am

    Though I’m not the best about writing thank you notes (a habit I mean to correct), I hope I have always been suitably appreciative when you have gifted me with your knitting. It’s beautiful. 🙂

  5. Knitnana said,

    June 5, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Perfect!
    🙂


Leave a Reply

