A Special Nurse

I want to tell you about one of my classmates, Sadie Gobert.  Sadie went to LPN school in the 1960’s, and worked for Our Lady of the Lake hospital in Baton Rouge from her graduation.  After all those years she was encouraged to go on and get her RN, and became one of my classmates in 1986.

Sadie by then had been the one to orient many new RNs to their job.  She was that rare nurse (even for an RN) that could call a doctor in the middle of the night and say “I can’t give you any specific measurement that is out of whack, but I strongly feel that your patient is in trouble” and the doctor would come right over.

We used to laugh in school that everybody at “the Lake”  knew Sadie.  As we walked the halls to lunch, passing nurses would wave “Hi, Sadie!”.  Doctors would greet her, “Morning, Sadie.”   Patients being wheeled to hyperbarics would wave and call “S-a-a-a-d-i-e!” .

Sadie and I graduated from high school the same year (different states).  Together with four other older students, all of us with teenagers of our own, we formed a study group.  We were a mixed lot:  3 LPNs, I a paramedic, one a high school graduate, and one had a GED after dropping out as a freshman in high school. Because Sadie lived closest to the hospital we often went to her house to study.  We told our classmates we’d gone to “Sadie’s Bar & Grill”.  Our teachers were scandalized!   All six of us graduated as honor students, in the top 10 of our class.  There was quite a work ethic in that group!

Sadie was our model for nursing pratice.  I’m talking about the art of nursing, the things they can tell you about in books, but you have to grow into.  I can’t imagine someone I’d rather have at my bedside giving care.

All this is in fond memory.  I received an email this week telling me that Sadie had died in September, 2008.  She was the first of our class to die.    So many miss her.  God bless her soul.

4 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    May 27, 2009 at 10:51 am

    What a lovely tribute you’ve written! May she rest in peace.
    (((hugs)))

  2. AlisonH said,

    May 27, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    Oh honey, I’m sorry. And so glad you had her.

  3. Danielle from SW MO said,

    May 28, 2009 at 6:43 am

    As a former LPN I can definitely agree that Sadie (as you describe her) is a 1 in a million Nurse to know and work with. Hugs and condolences on the loss of your friend.

  4. Tonia said,

    June 27, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    I am Sadie’s daughter. I just felt like googling my mom’s name just to see if she were here….present somehow. What a pleasure to see a wonderful tribute written on her behalf. Thank you. Everyday, I remember he spirit and her kindness. Thanks for remembering as well!


Leave a Reply

