Knitting Update

I am pleased to announce a finished object.  Swing Swing, knit in Blue Lapis Valley Yarns Colrain was finished Tuesday night during the Dancing with the Stars finale.

As you may recall, I was concerned that I would have sufficient yarn.  I had stopped short on the bottom of the sweater, and put the yarn skein in a baggie, which I pinned to the sweater.  Each sleeve took a skein and a half, which seemed to be on schedule.  However, the pattern required me to step out on faith, block it, sew up the facings, then pick up the collar stitches.  There was nothing for it but to go ahead and knit the sweater hem to a decent completion.

All was well.  I still have between half and a third of a skein, and the blocking was a dream.  The swing panels coaxed out to their full glory without protest.

DH had given me a blue beaded shawl pin (based on a kilt pin style) several years ago.  It is such a perfect closure for the neckline of Swing Swing that it will simply live on the sweater.  Happy, happy! 

No,  really I’m happy.  The scowl is just the sun in my eyes.  Sorry about that.

My current recorded book is Knitting, by Anne Bartlett.  Here is the summary from my public library’s listing:

“It’s been ten months since Jack died, and Sandra, a tightly wound academic, copes with her grief by immersing herself in the history of textiles. When she and Martha, a gifted knitter, meet over an unconscious body on the footpath, the unlikely threads of their lives tangle into each other. Sandra invites Martha to join her in a professional collaboration, but what begins as a working relationship becomes something deeply personal. Martha seems at ease with herself, in spite of her own experience of grief. But what does she carry around in those three large bags?”

This book is certainly darker than Blossom Street or even the Friday Night Knitting Club takes on a knitting novel.  Yet I have been unable to walk away from listening to this one while I knit.

My public library subscribes to the OverDrive Media program, and it has been a joy to both work with and listen to.  Check out your library listings – they may have an eMedia program, too.

2 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    May 21, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Love the sweater – what a great job you did, and the color is just so pretty on you! I think that pin should do exactly that – live on that sweater!

    Must check out Knitting…
    🙂

  2. AlisonH said,

    May 21, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    What a beautiful sweater in a beautiful setting! Makes me remember how my best friend Kathy and I, as little girls, like to twirl around and around till we got dizzy. Just to celebrate!


Leave a Reply

