White and Fluffy Sunday

It was a white and fluffy Sunday.  The appointed Gospel for this week is the “I am the Good Shepherd” verse, with the accompanying Psalm being, of course, Psalm 23.  I couldn’t help thinking of my internet friends who were off on junket to the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival.

There was good news in the announcements, too.  Emmanuel, the baby born 9 weeks early at only 2 pounds, now weighs 5 pounds +.  He’ll be coming home this week!  May I say, Yippee!  Remember the blanket I knit for him? I knew his weight was over 4 pounds last week, so I brought the gift to his parents Sunday.  I’m so glad I didn’t wait until after our trip to present it…perhaps he can come home from the hospital wrapped in it.  (Yes, I know it’s in the high 80’s, but Louisiana is all about air conditioning, and it’s COLD inside.)

When we got home from church, DH suggested a walk down the drive to enjoy the magnolia blossoms.  I dearly love getting the mail in magnolia season.  The prevailing winds blow the scent away from the house, but as you walk between the magnolias it wafts toward you, ambushing you with its perfume.

The blossoms are the largest these trees have produced.  I asked DH to put his hands in the picture to show the scale. 

Even the buds are the size of a baseball!  The rains came at just the right time this year, I believe. 

The rest of the day was spent on…wait for it…knitting, of course.  I have now finished 3 1/2 pairs of footies, and have less than an inch before I begin shaping the toe of the remaining footie.  Wednesday is our Disney trip (bouncing up and down)!  I’ll make the deadline with for the  socks.

I’m spending my knitting time considering what to pack.  I most certainly don’t want to get stuck somewhere without sufficient knitting!  Think of those poor people quarantined in a hotel in Asia because one traveler became ill!

4 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    May 4, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    GORGEOUS magnolias! And I’m excited for you!
    (((hugs)))

  2. May 4, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Wow that’s big! And congratulations to the little one on his growth and health. I love that the magnolia is celebrating along with you–and how your blanket is magnolia-esque.

  3. Birdsong said,

    May 5, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Oh, thanks so much for the magnolia blossom photos! These are one of the few things I miss about living in the Sacramento Valley where I grew up… they were one of the highlights of spring for me.

  4. Laura Gallagher said,

    May 6, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    When do you get back? And please keep in touch so I know you’re all okay.

    That said – wish I could go too. I keep wishing Karl and I could get a vacation – our 10th anniversary is this month, and we’ve never had that honeymoon.


Leave a Reply

