Footie Prototype

I’ve completed my first pair of footies, and it is a success.  I cast on 72 stitches for my wide feet, and knit in K2 P2 rib for 3/4 inches.  I continued in stockingette until the piece measured 1/34 inches, then changed to white for my standard flap heel. 

This was my first foray into contrasting heel and toes.  My stash contained only one 50 gram skein of this self-patterning yarn (from a sale grab bag); the contrast yarn provided enough yardage to complete the pair.  I was very concerned that I might not have enough of the patterned yarn, so I began the white toe one inch before the toe shaping.  My feet look like a Snowshoe Meezer!  (Not to worry:  they are meant to be worn under tennies:  no one will see them.)   After all was knit, I could see there would have been sufficient patterned yarn.  I have another “orphan” 50 gram ball, same brand,  from the same grab bag, and I’m glad to know it will work.

The second pair will have one inch ribbing instead of 3/4 inch.  I think that will provide better “cling” at the ankle.   I’m pleased with the results…time to cast on!

3 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    April 24, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Nothing wrong with snowshoe meezers! And those footies are terrific…hmmm….I wonder how much I have in stash, must buy some white, too!
    (((hugs)))

  2. April 25, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    Oh, those are cool. Those are just really cool. Wow.

  3. Marsha said,

    April 27, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Those you great, I like those!


Leave a Reply

