Ah, the joys of Spring

Outside my studio window today I was greeted with this view. It is the first day lily bloom of 2009.

The day lilies are planted around the bases of the two magnolias that stand sentinal on either side of our driveway.  As I looked up from the day lily, I was struck by the sheer number of magnolia buds this year. Just on this branch in the picture I can count at least 13.

Buoyed by the blossoms in the front yard, I went back by the lake to take a picture of the cypress.  That tree looks like an absolute stick in winter, and buds out late, so one begins to think that it has died.  Oh, but once it comes to life in the Spring, it is with an exultation of green feathery leaves!  The cypress tree makes me think of Snoopy doing his happy dance.

Leave a Reply

