Easter Weekend

First and foremost, both the 8:30 and 10:00 am church services went off without a flaw.  I was so grateful that my musical offerings were what I had hoped for, and I “didn’t let the side down”.  Afterwards, at coffee hour, I told Fr. Chad that this week was like a “month of Sundays”, with the four services.  No wonder I spent so much of the last two weeks in rehearsal.

Knitting did happen, in between times on the organ bench.  I’ve managed to get a sock and 3/4 done of Brainylady’s Basic Cabled Sock. The yarn is Fleece Artist Somoko, the Midnight colorway, and is one of the skeins that I purchased from Loopy Ewe in St. Louis, MO on our October trip.  I really like the fact that the gusset grows out of the cable on each side.

Meezermeowmy has never been known as a monogamous knitter, so of course I had to start a new project.  (We’re going to Disneyworld in early May, and I’m trying to get projects to a good stage for travel knitting.)  When Swing Swing showed up in the Winter 2008 issue of Knotions, it was love at first sight.  I ordered the Colrain yarn that day, in Blue Lapis.  It’s been calling to me ever since; once I got past the heel of the second Basic Cabled Sock I felt I could cast on. Last night I got past the divide for the sleeves, and today I knit the first cable twists.  The yarn is 50% Merino/50% Tencel, and is a yummy knit.  As expected, the Merino is soft, soft, soft, and the Tencel makes for a fluid drape.  After this 16 rows increases occur to create the A-line.  They must be kept in pattern, and will require more of my attention.  Whiskers crossed!

1 Comment

  1. Knitnana said,

    April 14, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Whee! Congrats on successful performances!

    LOVE the socks…
    (((hugs)))


Leave a Reply

