Eventful Weekend

It’s been quite a weekend!  I knew I would be busy this next week (Holy Week) acting as substitute organist for our parish.  Our organist is a school teacher who is taking members of her class to Milan, Italy for spring break.  As you can imagine, I’ve spent much of the last week practicing.

What knitting time I could spare was used to finish the baby blanket. It was knit from winter white Red Heart Acrylic,  a yarn I seldom use.  Drawing from the wisdom of on-line knitters, I opted to machine wash and dry it to make it softer.  That really helped, and the drape was fantastic. The stitch is made by yarn over, slip one stitch, knit two, pass slipped stitch over.  The alternate rows are purled.  The stitch moves by one stitch each repeat.  The baby, Emmanuel, is continuing to improve.  He was moved out of the NICU into the regular nursery.  However, that proved to be too stressful for him, so he’s back in the NICU for now.

Then Saturday night I got a phone call that changed everything!  Our organist was planning to play the Palm Sunday service, then drive to the New Orleans airport.  Saturday the airport called to notify her that the flight time had been moved up.  She would have to leave in the middle of church service.  Could I play the last half?  I got it done, but not without some worries.  I have a Baldwin church organ in my living room, and do most of my practicing at home.  I hadn’t planned to go over to the church to reacquaint myself with the personality of that organ until Monday.   If I were scored like a figure skater my technical score would have been 9.5, but my artistic values only 8.  I’ll remedy that before Maundy Thursday.

But wait, there’s yet another twist:  a long-time parishioner died Saturday night.  The funeral mass will be Wednesday…that’s more music yet.  Fortunately, I’ve kept pretty good notes on funerals played in the past, and know what music I want to use.  I wait to hear what hymns were chosen.

4 Comments

  1. Marsha said,

    April 6, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    The blanket came out so nice. I hope he gets to use it soon!!

  2. April 6, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    The blanket is beautiful. And good luck with the playing.

    We had an elderly member of our church pass away a few years ago, and during the services, the pew below me suddenly jerked UP! and lurched to the right. I looked up–the chandeliers were swaying. Earthquake!

    It was a mild enough one that it didn’t hurt anyone or anything. I figured it was Al waving cheerfully goodbye, y’know?

  3. koto-chan said,

    April 6, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    The blanket looks very nice! I hope that the baby gets better and that soon he can come out of the NICU for good. When he does, I’m sure he’ll be very happy to snuggle up with his new blanket!

  4. Knitnana said,

    April 6, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    What a lovely blanket! I’ll keep little one in my prayers.
    (((hugs)))


Leave a Reply

