Knit from a sheep, don’t be a sheep

Bahhh, I’m guilty of being a sheep, and it got me in trouble.  I suppose this must be the definition of a process knitter, blindly following directions.  This time it got me in trouble.  Ironically, there was  no questioning of the directions because the process was so familiar.  I was knitting a sock that has 2 x 2 ribbing, with six-stitch simple cables down each side.  The directions called for nine cable crossings, then rearranged so that the gussets grew out of the center of each cable.  I had completed the heel flap, heel turn, and gusset and was ready to race to the toe.  I was so pleased with myself that I decided to try the sock on.  Well, let me tell you, it came half way up my calf – the cuff was over 7 1/2 inches long (I usually wear 6 inch cuffs).  DH suggested “try it, you’ll like it”.  I had this niggling fear that if I pressed on I would only have more to frog, so off I went to my digital scales.  The verdict was that there was no way I could complete two socks this large with my yarn.  le sigh.  So I ripped back to seven cable turns (6 inches), and did three rows of re-orientation instead of five.  I’m ready to knit heel flap again, but that was enough sturm und drang for one night.

Yesterday I posted a picture of DD talking to our friend Betty, and posed the question “what did she say?”.  Charlotte guessed “It really isn’t polite to call across the room, you know.”  Not right, but certainly DD’s Grammy would have been among the first to invoke that rule. Good guess!

Laura Gallagher, our first-born, guessed “I’m so glad to hear you’re singing for us tonight!” when Sis had no idea she was supposed to be. Not right, but another excellent guess!  Betty had asked DD to sing, but she had arranged it months earlier.

Betty said (drum roll, please) “With that hair cut you look years younger!”  DD was already one of the youngest present, and in the past was plagued with being taken for much younger than her age.  Her facial expression says she’s finally reached the point of being pleased by a more youthful appearance.

I think she looked marvelous!

3 Comments

  1. bookwormblue said,

    April 3, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Well, people keep reminding me at the worst times that I’m going to be–gasp–30 this year, usually in an effort to get me to act more my age. 30 is older than I ever intended to be, really. OES is the only place where I am definitely exempt from this. Even DH says the haircut makes me look older, rather than younger! Well. you can’t please everyone, and I have never gotten so many compliments on one cut before! I like it, and I’m keeping it!

  2. April 3, 2009 at 11:56 am

    It’s easier to read lips when they’re moving!

  3. matt said,

    April 4, 2009 at 7:41 am

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).


Leave a Reply

