Triumphant weekend for Meezermeowmy

As Garrison Keeler is wont to say about Lake Woebegone, “It’s been quite a week here”.  First, to tie up some loose ends.  The refrigerator is humming along, with ice cubes in abundance in its freezer, and the floor warm and dry.  All is well in my kitchen, and no hidden charges appeared in the repair process.  A compressor relay did die in the stress of repeatedly trying to bring up the compressor, but the repairman had one of those parts on his truck, and replaced it without additional charge.

Knitnana wanted photographic proof of the Oscar Meier weiner-mobile sighting. As Irish luck would have it, it was in town for the St. Patrick Day’s parade.  (No, I didn’t attend that rain-soaked event.  My deductions were prompted by the shamrock stickers on the windshield and all over the bun. ) We saw it one more time Sunday afternoon, and DH volunteered to circle the block and get a picture.  Thanks, honey.   I’m amused by the “sandwich” being in compliance with the One Way sign in the photo, even though it is in the parking lot.

My big social event this weekend was a tea honoring the Eastern Star state officers of our area .  As Grand Organist I was one of the honorees.   Our year is coming to a finish, with Grand Chapter in another week, so the reception was our final celebration.  This is the entire reception line.  I was a good girl, and put my knitting down for the occasion.   (I’m second from the right.)Here’s a closer shot.  I’m in the middle, surrounded by Susan, our Grand Marshal, and Faye, Friend of a Feather.

So many friends came to honor us.  Here I’m greeting Melanie and Norma.   Melanie is Worthy Matron of Baton Rouge Chapter.  Norma has served loyally as my Page this year.

The tea tables were lovely, decorated using a St. Patrick’s  Day theme. 

Knitting on the baby blanket hit high gear Sunday afternoon, and I’ve made it to 30 inches (out of 40).  Once more, Fr. Chad dropped a Sunday morning bombshell on us, announcing that the baby (a boy) had been born 9 weeks early. ( My first reaction was “No-o-o, he can’t be born yet, I have so much knitting left to do!”)   He will be called Emmanuel, and weighed in at 2.5 pounds.  Emmanuel is reported to be doing well, coming off pressurized oxygen already.  Mom is in intensive care with blood pressure problems, and the new Dad is wearing out his shoes pacing between the NICU and the ICU.  Please keep this family in your prayers.

4 Comments

  1. bookwormblue said,

    March 16, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Goodness gracious, two and a half pounds?! Shopping for preemie clothes, anyone? I’m keeping my fingers crossed that mom and little Emanuel wil be OK.

    Lovely pictures of the tea, Meowmy. I’m proud of you, as always.

  2. Knitnana said,

    March 16, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Oh my, 2.5 lbs? Everyone is firmly on the prayer list indefinitely…And what fun to see your grand tea. Congratulations all!

    (I LOVE the Oscar Mayer Weiner-Mobile!!! JUST LOVE IT! Thanks to DH for getting the photo!)
    (((hugs)))

  3. Birdsong said,

    March 16, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    You look happy in the photos even without knitting in your hands, LOL. Hope the baby is doing well. Now, I have to get me a weinermobile to drive around in…talk about enabling!

  4. AlisonH said,

    March 21, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    Goodness. My prayers go with them, as I remember to be grateful yet again that an observant nurse took my sister’s blood pressure during a delivery and found it was breathtakingly high for the first time in her life.

    And for the little one.

    Re the wienermobiles, there are I think four? I got to see one two blocks from my house a few years ago, having no idea it was in town. It definitely got my attention!


Leave a Reply

