Canadian visitors

Yesterday I knew there was someone new out by the lake because the neighborhood dogs set up quite a racket.  When the “barking” went on and on, I realized it wasn’t the dogs, but honking.  I rushed to the windows, and spotted this pair of Canadian geese sailing down our lake.  We rarely see such birds; the last pair was four years ago.  I didn’t dare go outside to take pictures, but relied on the telephoto lens of my camera from the safety of my bedroom “duck blind”.  As them came closer and closer, one of our resident mallard drakesseemed reluctant to challenge them.  He looked  like a small fishing boat watching a aircraft carrier steam by!

This morning, I was awakened at 5:15 by the geese honking.  I slipped out of our bedroom and watched from the keeping room window.  The pair of geese have been joined by five more.  Although they swam the lake in a beautiful line, they are certainly not a stealth squadron.  I’ll say this:  no one does travel commentary better than Canadian geese!  “Honk, honk, honk, honk, honk!”

I came to the half-way point of the yarn for the baby blanket last night.  As I spliced in the new skein, I took a progress measurement, and was pleased to find that I was at 20″, about half of the blanket.  I could have taken it to the School Board meeting, by the way.  The father-to-be had to miss the meeting.  Instead, I knit on a cap for the Christmas at Sea caps for lent drive, and finished the ribbing.

1 Comment

  1. AlisonH said,

    March 10, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Canadian Geese are beautiful, but subtle they are not.

    Your grandson is adorable! Happy birthday to him!


Leave a Reply

