Knitting Repurposed

Several years ago we were facing a bitterly-cold Christmas Eve.  I spent the afternoon knitting a cabled cloche to wear to midnight services.  The knitting was well executed, the hat was warm, and I looked…awful.  I  looked like a peeled onion!  Needless to say, that has has languished on the closet shelf.

Now I am gearing up to resume my other love in the world of fiber art, cross stitch embroidery.  DH has kindly ordered a Stitch Mate needlework floor stand.  It will allow me to do two-handed embroidery, and to flip the frame over to finish my work without having to unfasten the frame from the stand.  I’m ambidexterous, and I have always thought it was a real shame that I didn’t have the set-up to embroider two-handed – I should be so good at it.

But what about the knitting, you ask?  Well, I have a Dazor magnifying lamp on a floor stand.  It’s been my joy for about 20 years, and I’m still using the first bulb.  However, in our old house there was only one window/room, which I believe was the architect’s attempt to deal with our tropical heat.  I didn’t have to worry very much about direct sunlight hitting the magnifying lense and starting a fire.  Now the Dazor will be set up in our keeping room, which has four large windows, 2 south and 2 east.  I went on a dig through my bags in the closet, hoping to find something with a drawstring that would fit on the lamp.  Nothing would fit…but wait, that hat fell off the shelf as I rummaged.  Why not give it a try?  It fit, so I ran a ribbon drawstring around the edge, tied it in a bow, and said  the Meezer mantra:  I meant to do that!

5 Comments

  1. niney said,

    March 2, 2009 at 9:28 am

    that’s so funny.
    i made a hat similar to this.
    i hated it.
    but i’m so rotten i sent it as a gift!
    good repurposing!

  2. Debby said,

    March 2, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Necessity is the mother of invention, isn’t it? What a great idea to repurpose your knitting project.

    I’m looking forward to seeing your needlework projects. I have a crewel kit that I should get back to someday, of a street of Victorian houses. I bought it for the image, not the needlework, so I guess I’m not terribly motivated. Perhaps your future posts will inspire me!

  3. koto-chan said,

    March 2, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    I love it! It looks like the hat was made for that lamp!

  4. AlisonH said,

    March 2, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Cool! And inventive!

  5. Marsha said,

    March 3, 2009 at 7:33 am

    How clever you are, knitting that cover years in advance !! :o)


Leave a Reply

