A cautionary tale

No, I haven’t finished the second sock.  The usual excuse would be “the dog ate my homework”.  Yet you know well, dear friends, that no canines reside here, just Meezers.  I’ll fess up to my error, in hopes that you  won’t have the same mishap.

Last night I had gotten past the gusset of the second sock while I enjoyed Antiques Roadshow.  I was feeling a bit sorry for myself  because I was clearly coming down with a cold (thanks so much to the coughing and sneezing relative waiting in the surgery waiting room…it’s just what I wanted!).   I decided a low-fat Pop Tart was just the ticket for making me feel better.  It was toasted without burning, and removed to a plate with my bamboo toast tongs.  Ah, then I couldn’t leave well enough alone.  I decided it needed to be nudged further onto the plate, and touched the far edge of it gently with my fingertip.  Youch!  The hot jam had bubbled out, and I burnt my right index fingerprint!  Even with the prompt application of ice I have a second-degree burn (a 1/4″ diameter blister).  Now I understand what they meant on those Food Network competitions when someone burned themselves on hot sugar making a sugar show piece.  No more knitting for me for a day or two. As Eeyore would say, “Don’t mind me”;  I’ll just sulk over here in the corner with my tissue box.

At least I can show you how the repeat is coming out.  It amuses me that I even care whether or not these socks are identical.  Usually I don’t bother; it’s the challenge, I guess.  As you can see they are very close.  The first sock has a few short rows of white and black tweedy on the tip of the heel, but the second sock goes right to grey.  That makes for one less round of grey around the whole sock when the gusset is picked up.  I’ll always be able to tell them apart, but no one else will notice, I think.

The first sock finished with a repeat of the pink and grey tweed that started its heel flap.  I wound off the white/black tweed print to equal the rest of the heel flap, and there I was at the light grey to start the second cuff.  That wasn’t bad at all.  Oh, and of course, that’s Torrie arriving in the picture…”sorry I’m late for the photo shoot, Meowmy!”

6 Comments

  1. koto-chan said,

    February 24, 2009 at 11:54 am

    I would never have noticed the difference if you hadn’t pointed it out. They look to me like they match beautifully! I hope your finger feels better soon. I’ll watch out for those Pop Tarts – I had no idea they were so dangerous!

  2. Eileen said,

    February 24, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    I too wouldn’t have noticed anything unless you pointed it out. Hope your finger is better.

    I’m nominating you for a Kerativ Blogger award. Just check my blog for details

  3. margene said,

    February 24, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Hope you heal quickly! The socks are very pretty and will be even if they are of by one row…not one person can tell, btw.

  4. Knitnana said,

    February 24, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    WOW. THAT’s close to perfect – great job!!! (ok…Torrie, you made it into the shot, honey)

    And I hope you, your nose, and your finger feel lots better soon!!!
    (may I just say – OUCH!)
    (((Hugs)))

  5. Bonne Marie said,

    February 24, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Well done! I love to try and get the patterns to match, too, it just makes me happy 🙂

    Sending you well wishes on a speedo recovery from that nasty burn!

  6. Birdsong said,

    February 28, 2009 at 12:47 am

    Oops, hope you are back knitting by now! What lovely colors your socks


Leave a Reply

