Much Ado about a finished object

Yesterday was very productive, and I was able to Kitchener the toe of the second Rib Fantastic sock yesterday.  ( I must confess, the name just hasn’t caught on in my mind.  I just had to open another window and log in to my Ravelry projects page to look up the name of the pattern.  Sheesh!) 

The second sock went much faster than the first.  I finally focused on the pattern, and it’s really not difficult, once I got my  attention off BBC America’s Cash in the Attic.  The directions called for a three-way distribution of stitches on DP’s, which I did for the cuff of the first sock.  I got rebellious around the time of the knitting of the gusset, and went to two Knit Picks circulars, which made all the difference in speed.  Now, I must confess that having the pattern divided into three made sense with the pattern repeats, so for the second sock I put one third on the first circular, and two thirds on the second circular, with a stitch marker between the second and third parts.  It worked like a charm.

Today is forcasted to have bumpy weather, with some thunderstorms being severe.  The photo shoot needed to be an early priority, and I was so pleased with myself that I was able to set up without attracting Casper’s supervisory attention.  The sock pictures are taken on my sewing desk, which sits at the side of a north window.  I get wonderful light by pulling the lace curtain away, draping it over my shoulder.  Socks were arranged, the picture framed, and Victoria arrived in the picture just as I clicked the shutter.  Not a cute picture of Torrie, no, just her furry flank obscuring the socks.  Drat!  Three tries later, with the same result, I decided to take a picture of Torrie without the socks.  After satisfying our diva that she was the center of attention I was able to then capture the picture of my finished socks.

5 Comments

  1. February 18, 2009 at 11:27 am

    The socks are really nice! Casper is beautiful!

  2. koto-chan said,

    February 18, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Beautiful socks and beautiful kitty! I really like the shades of blue and red in the yarn you used. Also, I know just what you mean about the cats always wanting to be the center of attention…

  3. Marsha said,

    February 18, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Diva’s will demand their share of the attention won’t they!

    Great socks!!

  4. Knitnana said,

    February 18, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    But Torrie is gorgeous, and we must must must pay homage to our Meezers!!!
    Socks are of course, secondary.
    (((Hugs)))

  5. AlisonH said,

    February 18, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Beautiful socks! Torrie, though, is just gorgeous.


Leave a Reply

