Signs of Spring

I don’t care what that groundhog saw; spring is in the air here in Louisiana.  I went out on the patio this morning in hopes of being able to share some signs of spring with you.

This was the first gecko sighting of the spring. He’s welcome, as they eat all sorts of insects that aren’t welcome here.

The roses were given a hard pruning this winter.  They had gotten leggy, and hurricane Gustav had left three of them leaning drunkenly.  DH propped them up after pruning, and I am happy to report that all have “straightened up and flown right”. This is the Oklahoma rose, all leafed out and eager to go.

And this, my friends, is the first rosebud of 2009! It’s on the Rio Samba rose, which begins orange and yellow, and matures to peach.  As I recall, it was in bud when we purchased it from the greenhouse two years ago, so it has a record of early blooms.  May I say, yippee!

Knitting progress has occured this weekend.  The never-ending washcloth project has, indeed, ended.  Whew!  I went on to finish the first Rib Fantastic sock, and got a good start on the second.  The toe pattern called for was a bit of a slipped-stitch pattern, much like the usual heel.  I decided after a few rows that I really didn’t want that on my toes, and frogged back to the beginning of the toe.  This is my usual, decrease 4 stitches every other row, toe.

7 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    February 16, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    Gecko! We’ve got them here, too — there’s at least one in my room at school that poos on things. 😦 And roses! And very pretty sock.

  2. AlisonH said,

    February 16, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    How cool to have a gecko! And I love the sock colors and pattern.

  3. Jennifer said,

    February 17, 2009 at 6:42 am

    Love the gecko picture. You made my day. The sock is fantastic. Love the color of the yarn and the pattern/texture is very interesting.

  4. Danielle from SW MO said,

    February 17, 2009 at 6:50 am

    SW Mo is starting to show signs of spring as well 🙂 Unfortunately here that usually means we will get atleast 1 more freeze and snowfall and I will be outside frantically covering my flowers to prptect them 😦
    Cant wait to see the blooms on the Rose Bush!

  5. sunsetkniter said,

    February 17, 2009 at 8:31 am

    I love the colors of the yarn! So pretty!

  6. Barb B. said,

    February 17, 2009 at 8:36 am

    I love how that yarn has turned out in the socks. And you have done a lovely job of knitting them!

  7. Knitnana said,

    February 17, 2009 at 10:09 am

    Ok…I’m now drooling over that colorway…it’s gorgeous and I’m not into green.
    Go figure?
    You post is green stuff, tho! Signs of spring for sure….

    (while I’m not into such things as geckos? I appreciate their importance! So yay!)
    (((Hugs)))


Leave a Reply

