An Autumn kind of guy

DH is an autumn kind of guy.  His favorite color is orange;  he even bought an orange car back in the days when we were a one-car family.   (I, on the other hand, love blue and green, and cool colors in general.  Autumn colors are strictly for him.) So when I saw Lion Brand’s Cascading Leaves Throw pattern, I envisioned it for him in fall colors:  paprika, golden yellow, deep red, and loden green.  I bought their Jiffy yarn for his fall afghan, and knit a square.  I hated it.  It pulled up all squishy, and it’s acrylic… blocking wasn’t going to help. I just couldn’t envision knitting a second square, much less the rest of the afghan.  I sent it to a corner of  my clothes  closet to repent.

But every time I opened my studio closet I saw this colorful bag of Jiffy yarn, whispering “his afghan, his afghan” to me.  Well, that had been last fall when I tried knitting the Cascading Leaves.  Maybe I should give it another try.  This time, I knit half a square.  Yucky-poo!

What to make of this yarn he loved?  I decided to try a log cabin variation, inspired by Mason & Dixon Knitting.  I started with red, because a red square, representing the hearth, was the traditional center of a log cabin quilt block.  Then I realized I only have four colors, so instead of changing colors every side, I made the second, and subsequent colors L-shaped.  I’ve been careful to rotate the colors so that the next time the same color comes up it is on the opposite side of the block.  This creates a pinwheel effect.

It’s not rocket science, or even cable work, but it is excellent for knitting in the evening with football games happening on the telly.  Best of all — he likes it.

5 Comments

  1. Jennifer said,

    January 5, 2009 at 5:06 am

    Looks great. What a lucky guy.

  2. Knitnana said,

    January 5, 2009 at 8:43 am

    I love it! And I adore the Log Cabin – mine is in the home stretch!
    (((hugs)))

  3. Jo said,

    January 5, 2009 at 9:23 am

    What a handsome blanket — just like fall! I hope it’s well received.

  4. AlisonH said,

    January 5, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Very nice and very snuggly looking.

  5. Marsha said,

    January 6, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    I did one of these with left over sock yarn, just for a lap throw to use in the car. I love it, it’ comes in quite handy and is very easy and pleasing to knit. Can’t wait to see your progress.


Leave a Reply

