The mind works, sometimes

I have had difficulty with naming some things, which is a form of aphasia, since having two surgeries back-to-back and receiving 6 units of blood in November.  It’s been slowly resolving, but I now understand the saying “he’s at a loss for words”.  This morning was a different experience, though.

I was up early after a restless night.  None of my blogger friends had posted something new yet, so I was  puttering at Solitaire on my computer.  Suddenly, a thought arrived full-blown in my mind:  “risen with healing in His wings”.    Where did that come from?  It persisted, so I asked DH, next door in his office “does this mean anything to you?  It sounds like a song to me.”

At his suggestion, I Googled it.  That gave me a little answer:  it’s quoting Malachi 4:2. There were several contemporary  and Gospel songs written on it, none of which I’ve heard.  I gave up with this partial answer.

Finally, coffee wasn’t even enough to keep me awake.  Minky and I drifted off to nap, and when I woke, I knew.  It’s the third verse, admittedly, but you know this Charles Wesley hymn:

Hail the heav’n-born Prince of Peace!
Hail the Son of Righteousness!
Light and life to all He brings
Ris’n with healing in His wings
Mild He lays His glory by
Born that man no more may die
Born to raise the sons of earth
Born to give them second birth
Hark! The herald angels sing
“Glory to the newborn King!”

Minky is relieved that the mystery is solved, and hopes I’ll settle down and knit now.


3 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    December 30, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Hate when that happens! For me it’s often snippets of melodies, though.

    *skritches kitty under the chin*

  2. AlisonH said,

    December 30, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    I LOVE that hymn.

    I very often cannot think of words on my feet. But if you put a computer keyboard or a pen in my hand, I’ve got it.

  3. Knitnana said,

    January 2, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    LOL.
    I don’t usually get snippets of songs. But I do know about those phrases that come to you (mine are usually from the Classics, mostly British writiers, and thank heaven for Google!).

    That photo of MInky is gorgeous!
    What a beautiful meezer…
    (((hugs)))


Leave a Reply

