Finishing what I started

Have you ever noticed how fast a knit goes when you’re enjoying yourself?  I know you can all testify to how a project drags when you aren’t enjoying it.  Success is indeed pleasurable; having finally succeeded at stranded work sans puckering, I finished my Mirelle hat yesterday.  Its top is less geometric on my head than on my “stunt double”.

Yes, I did the gift wrapping last night.  All that remains is the tissue paper wrapping of the little bits for the little grandchildren’s stockings.

( Our family has always done this, and it makes the stockings more fun than just dumping  everything out on the rug and being done with it.)

I called it quits when my back was complaining, took some Tylenol, and settled down to knit until it worked.  Thus, the Celtic Cabled Scarf was cast on.

Today’s agenda:  potato salad, Waldorf salad, said stocking wrapping, and a nap so I can attend late Christmas Eve services.  It’s so embarassing to nod off into a hand-held candle during “Silent Night”!

4 Comments

  1. Debby said,

    December 24, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Your hat looks amazing! You must be so happy to have finished your Christmas knitting.

    I caught up on your posts and am amazed to see snow in Louisiana (a few posts after those beautiful roses). It must have been quite the shock! Here in New England, we had a big snowstorm last weekend, so it’s likely we’ll have a white Christmas. I’d love to experience a warm, Southern holiday just to see what it’s like. 🙂

    Merry Christmas!!

  2. Marsha said,

    December 24, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    Look at you, done already! Very nice job.

    email error fixed, all should be well now.

    Thanks for your kind thoughts and support. I hope you and your family will have a great Christmas and as always, may God bless!!

  3. Jennifer said,

    December 24, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    Wow – that was a quick knit and it’s really beautiful. I’d love to see what it looks like on a real head. Congrats on such a gorgeous creation.

  4. Birdsong said,

    December 26, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    What a fabulous hat! I still have one hat, complete with puckery stranded work, that must have been one of my earliest attempts, so I do know what you mean about that feeling of pride at your accomplishment.


Leave a Reply

