New beginnings

Yesterday I had a doctor’s appointment in Baton Rouge, so I was pleased to read on Ravelry that Knits by Nana was going to be open on Monday as part of their Christmas week schedule.  I had found Mirelle (Ravelry link) by Kirsten Kapur, and wanted to try my hand at stranded knitting.  I also wanted this hat to coordinate with the blue mittens I knit in November with Lily Chin Park Avenue Printed yarn.

Finding a nice blue was easy.  First I saw a lovely periwinkle Lamb’s Pride Worsted.  However, there was no white, or ecru, or even beige to use as contrast.  I asked the clerk for help, and discovered that they stock wool mainly for felting projects.  Of course, white doesn’t felt well, so there weren’t many choices.  (Hey, what about the rest of us who knit just for knitting, not felting?)  Finally, I found two classic wools, one in winter white and one in periwinkle.

After that success, I couldn’t resist a peek into the sale room, where all the yarns were 50% off.  There, waiting for me, were 3 skeins of Elen Cashmere .  This is a DK-weight yarn, 25% cashmere, 35% wool, 5% silk, and 35% rayon.  The blend should have the best of softness, sheen, and some strength for a scarf.  I came home and went pattern trolling on Ravelry, where I found this Celtic Cable Scarf.  The pattern calls for 660 yards for a 60″ scarf.  I have 485 yards, but really only want a scarf to tuck inside the neck of my winter coat.  My trusty calculator says I should get a 40″ scarf, which should serve me well.

Now for the discipline:  I had one and a half mittens complete of the second pair my father-in-law requested.  I want you to know that after I printed out the scarf pattern, I went right back to knitting on the mittens.  By 7 pm last night I had the second mitten done, ready to ship today.  (Nothing to see here, folks.  Just a classic mitten in Wool-Ease, blue this time.  Move on.)

Then I cast on for the hat.  It has given me almost a child-like delight to finally be able to accomplish stranded work without a pucker.  Many thanks to all of my knitting friends on-line who have taught me the trick of sliding the stitches apart on the right needle.  It works, it works!  (Dancing about in the living room!)

5 Comments

  1. margene said,

    December 23, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Beautifully done. We do learn so much from our on-line pals!

  2. Knitnana said,

    December 23, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    LOVE that Celtic Cable scarf and what a beautiful job you’re doing in the two-color hat!! I’ve not tried it and will need to learn this trick you speak of with such glee!
    (((hugs)))

  3. Jennifer said,

    December 23, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    What a lovely hat.

  4. AlisonH said,

    December 23, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Beautiful!!!

  5. Marsha said,

    December 24, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Very nice indeed. I need to give strand knitting a try. My efforts in the past did not leave me satisfied.


Leave a Reply

