This one counts!

I’ve been looking at electronic stitch counters.  They have the capability of counting up to three things at once, and you toggle between the counts.  The weaknesses:  no label of what you’re counting, and a hefty price tag ($30).  I haven’t ordered one.  Needless to say, I’m still limping along with complex hash-mark notes on a large Post-it.

Until this morning…I thought to visit Handango and see if they had a counter for my Palm Tungsten PDA.  After all, the KnitAble application has been one of life’s joys.  Oh, my friends, look at CountAble! Four counters, and there is a long list of titles you can click on for each counter, such as decrease repeat, decrease row, increase repeat, increase row, pattern repeat, etc.  Best of all, it can keep track of an unlimited number of projects.  (As if a knitter would work on more than one project at once – wink, wink!)  All this goodie for only $5.95 downloaded!

Here’s a public thank-you to DH, who funded today’s joy instead of taking it out of my yarn money.   He said he’d be glad to make me happy, especially on inexpensive items.  VBG!

3 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    December 17, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    You know…I downloaded KnitAble and have yet to really look at it. Must do so. And then, maybe with your assistance, I’ll even buy it. And Countable too, as I’m using that large post-it myself!
    🙂
    (you have a good DH…)
    (((hugs)))

  2. December 17, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    just so you know (if you happen to have an iphone) there’s a counter that you can download on it for free… it does pretty much the same thing… but I’m still very old fashioned when it comes to counting… I like my paper and the tick marks showing me the number of rows I have completed…. the wrinkliness of the paper, changing of pens to pencil to crayons or whatever I have lying around… it tells a story and acts as a visual record of my knitting progress – 🙂 but LOVE the one you found… I’ll have to keep it on my list for maybe if I ever decide to change…

  3. AlisonH said,

    December 17, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    Someone gave me a row counter bracelet in small wooden beads. It was very ingenious and very useful. Plus you don’t lose it while out and about.


Leave a Reply

