Gifts of gratitude

I’m still going back and forth to my surgeon as I continue to recuperate.  She and her nurse are so good about seeing me any day I need to come in.  They’re gems!

Inspired by Alison, who has made gifts of her knitting to her doctors, I went to my stash of finished objects, and chose two items, one for the good doctor and one for her nurse.  When nurse Bobbie showed me to the exam room, I presented her with this:

The pattern is called Riversrun, and the yarn was spun by Dez Crawford.  Bobbie is a blond, and I hadn’t realized how aqua her eyes were until she put the scarf around her neck.  She popped out of the room, and made the rounds, showing it off to the other nurses.

When Dr. Ann came in, I had a pair of apple green fingerless mitts for her.  Although she is not a knitter, Dr. Ann had enjoyed needlepointe for many years.  She oohed and aahed over the cabled work on the mitts, loving the details.

I was so glad Alison’s posts had nudged me to take knitted gifts to these two dear ladies.  Lest I doubt whether they appreciated the gifts, two days later a thank you note was in my mail.

2 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    December 10, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Very good! Appreciation is important…I don’t think anyone wrote to me the year I knitted for my doctor’s office – and haven’t knitted for them since either. On a bright spot? Perhaps it’s hard with all the gifts they must get – so I should be more understanding?
    Anyway, cookies are fine, now.

    I’ll hope that heading in and out to the doc’s office means you’re improving????
    (((((Hugs)))))

  2. AlisonH said,

    December 10, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    Oh very cool. And all congratulations go to you, you’re the one who thought of it and did the work.


Leave a Reply

