Sebastian, the Siamese Bandit

Our first cat was Sebastian, a seal point Siamese cat (1966 – 1984).  Sebastian had a sweet tooth and the cunning to indulge it.  When DH was in graduate school, I bought a bakery birthday cake for him (you know the kind, with “Crisco” icing).  That icing turned out to call to Sebastian louder than catnip!  He discovered that if he sat on the top of the cardboard box (ruining the top of the cake) the side of the box would bow out, and he could lick the frosting off the side.  I had to buy a Tupperware cake carrier just to defend against Sebastian!

In later life, he often embarrassed me at this time of year.  You see, Sebastian’s other love in life was pumpkin pie filling.  Really!  No matter how carefully I would guard a cooling pie, sooner or later I would have a multi-tasking moment and slurp!, he would have a lick out of the dead center of the pie.  I must admit if we didn’t have guests, I would just put a nice big plop of Cool Whip over that spot, thinking everybody would get only a tiny bit as we cut the pie.  After all, we all hugged on him all day, anyway.  It became a much bigger problem when Godparents or grandparents were celebrating with us.

He was a wonderful cat.  I love the company of my trio of Meezers, but I will always miss the ones gone on.

2 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    December 3, 2008 at 9:01 am

    He sounds wonderful! I know I’ll not go back to non-meezers, unless of course, I get snagged by a really cute red-tabby tom…
    🙂
    (((hugs)))

  2. AlisonH said,

    December 3, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    I love it. Thank you for the glimpse.


Leave a Reply

