Travel time

Time does not equal knitting rows.  Well, of course not, you say.  Yet for sock knitting there is a sense, by now, of how much time it takes to go from the completed gusset decreases to the beginning of the toe shaping.  Wednesday night I had just completed the gusset, and decided to continue knitting on the sock through Bible study.  This sock has a plain instep, so it doesn’t require a lot of attention.  I knit on, and time passed quickly, with a lively group discussion.  Thursday morning, on a whim, I measured the sock.  Much to my surprise, I was 1/4″ past the point where I usually begin the toe shaping!  When did that happen?  Really, that’s not a bad thing.  They should be comfortable with a smidge more length.  My internal timer has been recalibrated by knitting socks with fancy insteps, I think.

Professor Henry Higgins in My Fair Lady sings “I’ve Grown Accustomed to her Face”.  Writing this blog has become part of my routine, too.  As much as I am looking forward to the travel adventures of the next week and a half,  I also know I will miss the blog.

I will be taking pictures of those lovely hills in fall color, and all my knitting adventures.  Please come back to see me …around the 23rd.  We’ll pass a good time, chere!

2 Comments

  1. Birdsong said,

    October 10, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Ooh, looking forward to the fall color pictures… that is my favorite part of this time of the year. The glorious surroundings. Have a great weekend.

  2. AlisonH said,

    October 18, 2008 at 12:10 am

    Thank you for capturing them; I imagine they’ll be gone by the time I get back East.


Leave a Reply

