Autumn Knitting

Saturday we drove to Arabi, Louisiana, traveling through the lower Ninth Ward of Katrina fame.  The Masonic lodge that hosted Saturday’s dinner meeting had taken on eight feet of water during the flooding that followed that storm.  It was eerie to stand in a beautifully-restored room and be told that the water had been “half-way up the clock on the wall”.   This area of Louisiana still looks like a bomb went off.  It was both sad and encouraging to drive through.  The encouragement came in what I would usually call an eye-sore:  election signs growing like weeds at every intersection.  Saturday was primary/local elections in Louisiana, and it was obvious that many positions were being vigorously contested.  The people are coming back!

As we drove Saturday, I completed the 16th dishcloth that will be a gift on my October travels.  Time to cast something on!  I chose a smaller, fun project for the rest of my weekend – the Autumn Tea Cozy by aemmeleia. I had purchased some Noro Kureyon, color 188, on my last trip to Knits By Nana.  The colors made me think of grape arbors, so I’m calling this my Grape Arbor Autumn Tea Cozy.

I wanted fall leaves, and after some unsuccessful stash diving, I considered my collection of remainders of sock yarn.  Two strands were used; the green leaf was two strands of loden that was purchased in Sieverville, TN in 2001; the green/purple leaf was one strand of loden and one of Misty Moore Cherry Tree Hill; and the orange leaf was one strand of Misty Moore with one strand of Cinnamon Araucania Ranco.

This final beauty shot I called “Still Life with Sock Yarn”.  These jars, full of yarn left over from knitting socks,  normally live on top of the bookcase beside my computer.  Seeing them every day makes me so much happier than having the yarn deep in the closet.  Someday I  may dive into fingering weight mitered squares.  Who knows, more fall leaves may call my name.

Leave a Reply

