A time for simple gifts

This year I have been traveling throughout Louisiana and in adjoining states, as part of my duties as Grand Organist for the Order of the Eastern Star, State of Louisiana.  For those of you who might not be familiar with the Eastern Star, we are a fraternal and charitable organization for female relatives of master masons.  Master masons can be members, too, so it becomes a great way for husbands and wives to do charitable work.  The Grand Organist position is an appointive, state-level office.

As I was saying, I’ve been hitting the road a lot.  We are getting ready to visit Missouri and Oklahoma’s Grand Chapters in October.  I mean, could it get any better for a knitter?   Missouri’s meeting will be in St. Louis (think Loopy Ewe) and Oklahoma’s meeting will be in Guthrie (home of SWAK knitting).  These two events will be a week apart, so we will enjoy the fall weather and mosey from one to the other.

When I wrote an introduction on SWAK’s Ravelry group board, I mentioned that I had never shopped there in person, but do all of my shopping on line.  I was looking forward to seeing them when I go to Oklahoma’s Grand Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star. ( I suspected that they wouldn’t have a clue what I was writing about, other than that I was coming their way.) Keely wrote back, all excited, saying you have to see the state Masonic Temple building – it’s beautiful, and just down the street!

Wow, that’s where our meetings will be.   So now, I’m telling the other grand officers “If you can’t find me, I’m just down the street at the yarn store!”

I have put away other knitting and gone into production mode. Both Missouri and Oklahoma’s gatherings will include a breakfast meeting where everyone brings a favor for everyone else at the table. This is so much fun, to receive little gifts from people visiting from all over the country. It makes it worth getting up for breakfast! Planning a gift that I think will please the recipients, and that speaks of my talents and interests is both a challenge and a big part of the fun.   Typically, the tables seat 10, so deducting for DH and myself, I’ll need 8 gifts X 2 gatherings, 16 knitted gifts. This year,  I have been making Grandmother’s Favorite Dishcloth and various colors, and currently have 12 in my completed stash.

The washcloths get paired with an artisan-made soap bar.  I had envisioned the combination from the beginning, but hadn’t been to the Farmer’s Market to purchase soap.  While I was running errands one day, our lawn man knocked on the door, and gave DH a sample soap.  He said he had just begun making soaps to sell, and wanted us to try the sample.  It was a heavenly, creamy lavender…why, yes, I wanted some.  Could he make smaller bars, say, 50 of them?  You should have seen his face!  I believe it was his first order.  He went home, played with his molds, and made super-thick bars that he could cut in half for me.  They turned out wonderfully, and just fit in the little plastic bags Hobby Lobby sells for jewelry-making findings.  I present the combo tied with  narrow ribbon, with my calling card tied into the bow.  They have been well received at previous events, where the people seated at my table jockeyed for their choice of color.

Diet update:  two days of sticking with the program.  So far, so good!

1 Comment

  1. AlisonH said,

    October 3, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    Wonderful all around!


Leave a Reply

