Friday Fun

I think every Friday needs a smile, so I am establishing my own tradition: Friday Fun.

My Grandpa Z loved to tell a story about the restaurant in the train station. It was a large, full service restaurant with high ceilings and glass walls. Well into the 1950’s it was considered classy. A fellow came in one morning and sat down at the counter, asking the waiter “F u n e x?”

“S, v f x.” he replied

“F u n e m? the man asked.

“S, v f m.” came the answer.

“I’ll f m n x.” was his order.

We never tired of saying this to each other. It’s a joke from the era of Marzey Dotes, after all. Just say it out loud, and you’ll get it. Happy Friday!

2 Comments

  1. AlisonH said,

    August 11, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    But were they green?

  2. Luke said,

    December 31, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    I don’t get it. I mean I get it, I can’t translate “m” and “x” though.

    I think the last line would be better as:

    “L f m n x”

    Luke


Leave a Reply

