Now, how did that go?

I planned to write some family history today, to tell the tale of Delilah.  (It still seems odd to me to call her that.  She was always Great-Grandmother Springsteen, or Mrs. Lyle Springsteen. )  But as I lay awake last night I realized that after 40 years, I’m no longer certain what is fact and what is conjecture I have used to fill in the gaps.  As keeper of the family story, I feel an obligation to get it right.

So, my friends, I will stop at the safe deposit box today while I am out running errands.  (Did you think it was only for passports, birth certificates, and the occasional old coin?)  There are obituaries and funeral cards there that have some solid facts.  Funny, how lives are condensed down to these bits of paper.  Then, we will have the story tomorrow.

1 Comment

  1. Cinders said,

    July 22, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Hi, Thanks for your comments on my blog. I’m working on swatches of my yarn as Im also curious to know how they knit up!!!.
    I’m very interested in family history too. Fancy having a great grandma wow!! my kids had a great grandma but they were toddlers when she died so they only have vague memories of my gran. I keep saying I’ll write her life story down. it was a hard one.


Leave a Reply

