Moving in!

I had a brief fling with barbara-kay.vox.com, but found out very quickly that no one could comment without registering with Vox.  Bummer.  So here I am, world.  A bit about me:

My life is defined by music and needle arts. I am a classically-trained pianist, having studied from the age of 3. In college, I made a decision not to pursue a concert career, fearing the family tendency to arthritis. (Professionally, I am a retired RN.) I do continue to perform on occasion, both as a soloist and as an accompanist for an operatic tenor.

My Great-grandmother, Delilah Springsteen (born 1868) taught me to knit. (She learned to knit socks for the Spanish American War!) Her method was Eastern Crossed, I now know. When I became interested in lace knitting I stumbled into transforming my knitting to Western, and never looked back.

I love to knit shawls and socks. Until this year, I was “excessively fluffy”, so these two items were really about all that fit me. Now, after a 120-lb. weight loss, and still in progress, I’m knitting a sweater and a vest for me. Yipee! Of course, the shawls and socks continue on the needles, too.

You’ll find me on Ravelry as meezermeowmy, too.  I try to keep life simple.

3 Comments

  1. AlisonH said,

    July 21, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Wow! So, like, you have a cousin named Bruce? I hear he’s a musician, too. Congratulations on the weight loss! And on the performing. Cool. I always loved my piano, but I could never get into performing–my son does, though, and totally makes up for me.

  2. margene said,

    July 21, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading (and commenting) on your new blog!

  3. Debbie said,

    July 24, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Great blog – that’s wonderful on the weight loss – keep it up. Keep on knitting!! Debbie


Leave a Reply

