Memories of the Blue Deep

The Caribbean Sea is the color of a fine London Blue Topaz.  Our last cruise stopped in Jamaica, where we bought such a topaz.  I might have said to myself  "you exaggerate the sea's brilliance", had I not stood on deck at Georgetown, Grand Cayman, and looked down at my necklace and the sea. 

Our "shore" excursion at Georgetown turned out to be one of the highlights of our cruise.  There was very little time on shore — just enough to get in line to board a tender, which took us to a lovely white submarine.  The dive trip was billed as an hour, and we (cynical tourists) thought the clock would begin ticking on the tender.  Much to our joy we were down in the sub for an hour, circling the coral reef at multiple levels down to 200 feet. 

We sat  facing our windows which were about the size of an airliner's window.  It didn't take much dive time for each person to have their nose pressed up against the window, in the classic "candy store" pose.  My fishy favorites were schools of 1" long, electric blue fish.  Our guide said that if you caught one of these fish and cut it open, even its bones and teeth would be  that blue. 

The coral was beautiful, and I came away from the dive grateful that the authorities insist the cruise ships anchor out away from the reef.  It is well worth the preservation efforts!
And the fish in my picture?  He's from the dive gift shop in Georgetown, and is a featherweight.  I suspect he's carved from balsa wood.

And now, the knitting connection ( you knew there was one).  These are my Blue Springy Socks, my second entry in Summer of Socks 08.  Don't they remind you of my fishy?  The pattern is Springy Socks by Judy Sumner, and the yarn is On Line, color Holiday. 

There is one more twist to the story.  I had just finished posting about my sock on Ravelry, and had the yarn label on my computer desk.  The Sockknitter's list digest arrived, with an SOS for On Line sock yarn, (oh, I just knit with On Line)  color Holiday (check), dye lot 23279 (oh my!).  The knitter needed to knit one more pedicure sock for her daughter's bridesmaids.  My first thought was "what a shame, I just knit up that yarn".  Then I remembered I had a pretty good remainder, and got out my digital scale:  27 grams.  Emails were exchanged, and the yarn is on its way to Texas.  Don't you just love happy endings? 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

1 Comment

  1. Marilyn G said,

    July 14, 2008 at 7:13 am

    Hiya, Barbara — you won my contest! 🙂 I'll need your mailing address (email it to me privately at skipper at mvwindwalker dot com) to send your prize! 🙂


Leave a Reply

