Just Saying…

Yesterday it did snow here, and for four beautiful hours big, fat flakes fell from the sky.  That was from the perspective of my lakefront windows.

Not everyone thought it was glorious.  Our blue heron likes to stand on the fountain base in the middle of the lake (when the fountain isn’t running…not a Heron shower).  There he stood in quiet dignity while big  snowflakes made his blue grey.  That just wasn’t right!

The other bird whose routine was disturbed was one of the mallard hens.  They often of a morning root around in the grass for insects.  The added inch of snow accumulation meant she came up with her bill looking like a “milk mustache”.  Mustn’t laugh at mallards,  mustn’t laugh at mallards!

I’m not doing the whole knitting Olympics thing, but, of course, I am knitting while I watch.  Last night I finished up the toes of a simple sock and a Jaywalker, and cast on their mates.  The simple sock is my usual purse knitting, and the Jaywalker my home knitting sock.

Did you see the two new patterns Knitty is offering? I could knit Skew, but I don’t think I would ever wear them.  Rooibos, however, looked like it was written for me!  It will fit both my lifestyle and bod.  Why, yes, I have ordered yarn:  Knit Picks is shipping me some Swish Bulky in Merlot Heather.

Best of all?  It’s Spring Break, a.k.a. Mardi Gras, so I don’t have to study this week for my seminar.  Knit on!

8 Comments

  1. Knitnana said,

    February 13, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    I’m glad you weren’t overwhelmed with the snow, and agree you mustn’t laugh at mallards… ;)
    You go girl – a KP order!
    (((hugs)))

  2. AlisonH said,

    February 15, 2010 at 2:37 am

    A milk mustache on the mallards–what an image!

    And thank you for the heads-up. I’d somehow missed seeing Knitty, and those socks are definitely curious.

  3. Debby said,

    February 21, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    It’s nice that you are enjoying the snow. I’ve lived in CT my whole life, so other than the first snowfall each season, I’d be happier living in your climate, where it’s rare!

    Glad you will have a break from class and can enjoy your projects!

  4. Laura Gallagher said,

    February 23, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Oh damnit – I would be tempted back into spending time on my knitting again for the Skew socks, and of course they’re women’s medium! Grrrr.

  5. AlisonH said,

    April 10, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    You’ve been quiet so long; everything okay?

  6. AlisonH said,

    May 23, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    Waving hi again.

  7. linnakat said,

    June 8, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Miss hearing from you..hope all is well.

  8. November 7, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Meezer! Great to hear from you — I wondered what happened to you! Hope all’s well in your world, and I’d love to see you blogging again!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

