Pictured, as promised

Hopeful in my heart that “The Sun Will Come Out – Tomorrow”, I delayed my photo shoot by one grey, winter day.  Good news:  sunshine!  Bad news:  arctic air mass, low of 22 forecast for Louisiana!

Here, then, are my Saffron socks.  They have been my travel-in-your-purse-knitting.  Such projects always take longer than those that get my everyday attention. I cast them on November 1, 2009, and completed the second sock on December 26, 2009.  They got my full attention that last day because I wanted my Knit Picks circs for other socks.  As long as I don’t purchase a second pair of KP #1.5’s, they should remain an impetus to second sock completion.

The specifications are Premier Yarn’s Serenity Sock Weight, color Saffron.  This yarn is 50% wool, 25% bamboo, 25% nylon.  Hobby Lobby sells it for a very attractive price of $4.29/skein, or just about $9 for a pair of socks, tax included.  The striping is consistent, and the yardage sufficiently generous (230 yards/50 grams) that knitting identical socks was a breeze.  Best of all, I have discovered only one knot after knitting six skeins of this yarn.

As I prepared my Ravelry entry for this sock I thought of a knitting (low)tech tip I should share.  I put my print-out patterns in a plastic page protector for ease of handling and pattern preservation.  But Wait! (as they say on infomercials) There’s More! As I begin knitting I slip the first yarn label down into the page protector, too.  Then when I’m all done (could be months later) I have the label at hand.

What is that in the background, you ask?  Why, it’s a cat tower.  Where else would Meezermeowmy pose her socks?

6 Comments

  1. Charlotte said,

    January 6, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    That’s a great tip for any knitting project. I often copy my pattern and put it in a page protector but I hadn’t thought of adding the yarn label to it. If it’s a lace repeat, I usually write those out on index cards and I put the cards, stacked in the order I’m knitting them, in the page protector, clipped together so as I finish one card, I can put it on the bottom of the stack, etc.

  2. AlisonH said,

    January 6, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    22? Brrrr… Just the weather for beautiful warm handknit socks. (Got a pair on myself right now, at a total California wimp-out of about 40 outside.)

  3. Knitnana said,

    January 7, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    I feel your pain…sorta. It’s not supposed to be that cold that far south, er, this far south…er.
    It’s COLD.
    Love the socks.

  4. AlisonH said,

    January 10, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    A little bit of Beatles “Good day, sunshine!” going on in the background here…

  5. tina said,

    January 10, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I love the socks, and feel your ‘cold pain’. It blows for sure.

    As far as the impetus to finish that second sock, we will take what we can get! I personally haven’t knit a pair of socks in Fo’evah!!!!!!! Good, bad or indifferent,it is what it is.

  6. Jennifer said,

    January 10, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Ooh – I love “socks in the purse” project. They’re great to have around.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

